Books for changing the world
Menu
Menu
Doppelgangbanger

In his highly anticipated second poetry collection, Doppelgangbanger, Cortney Lamar Charleston examines the performance of Black masculinity in the U.S., and its relationship to family, love and community.

In his anticipated second poetry collection, Doppelgangbanger, Cortney Lamar Charleston examines the performance of Black masculinity in the U.S., and its relationship to family, love and community.

With the wit and musicality fitting of a 90s baby raised during the Golden age of hip-hop, Cortney Lamar Charleston grapples with the landscapes of Chicago’s South Side and surrounding suburbs, and the tensions that impact a Black boy’s struggle through self-destructive definitions of manhood. While the language in these poems is playful, Charleston’s vulnerability invites readers to intimately witness the speaker’s journey from adopted persona to an authentic self that defies traditional molds.

Reviews
  • With stunning knowledge and sharp vulnerability, Cortney Lamar Charleston has rendered a classical epic of love, war, and self-discovery, in the tradition of Milton, Homer, and Virgil if they were Bone Thugs-n-Harmony.

    Morgan Parker, author of Magical Negro

    “Cortney Lamar Charleston burns his signature into these stanzas. With an unrelenting intimacy, he dares us into a narrative we think we know—Black boy vs. the scheming wiles of the city vs. the rest of his life—then backhand slaps us toward a singular experience marked by choices that can only guide the life of one man.”

    Patricia Smith, author of Incendiary Art

    “Cortney Lamar Charleston is one of our most necessary observers of Black boyhood in all its beauty and difficulty. These poems sing to us of us.”

    Nate Marshall, author of Finna

Other books of interest

  • Black Queer Hoe

    A refreshing, unapologetic intervention into ongoing conversations about the line between sexual freedom and sexual exploitation.
  • Citizen Illegal

    Citizen Illegal is a revealing portrait of life as a first generation immigrant, a celebration of Chicano joy, a shout against erasure, and a vibrant re-imagining of Mexican American life.
  • Smoking Lovely

    Smoking Lovely is one of the foundational texts of anti-gentrification Nuyorican literature, inspiring a whole generation of poets in their attempts to survive and subvert the neoliberal city.

  • I Remember Death By Its Proximity to What I Love

    The long form poem is tethered in folklore and personal narrative, detailing the impact of the destructive mass incarceration system.

  • Rifqa

    Rifqa is Palestinian poet Mohammed El-Kurd’s ode to his late grandmother, and to the Palestinian struggle for liberation. ‘Jerusalem is ours.’